Facebook Messenger and Instagram are adopting “Vanish Mode”, a Snapchat-like feature for disappearing messaging. The feature, allows users to set chats to automatically delete after the message is seen and the chat is closed.
When enabled, messages sent (text chats, emoji, pictures, GIFs, voice messages and stickers etc) while in vanish mode will disappear as soon as you leave the conversation. And, like Snapchat, you’ll be notified if the person you’re chatting with takes a screenshot of a conversation.
To be clear, Vanish Mode is not designed to cater to those looking to secure an entire conversation. Though the feature is end-to-end encrypted, Facebook already offers a fully end-to-end encrypted conversations feature (Secret Conversations) which requires several steps and setting a timer for each message to disappear individually.
However, unlike on Snapchat, Vanish Mode is not a default setting. Vanish Mode is an opt-in experience — meaning you can can choose whether to enter a Vanish Mode chat. And it only works with people you’re connected to, Facebook says.
How To Enable Vanish Mode In Facebook Messenger
Vanish mode can be enabled within an existing chat by swiping up on your mobile device’s screen while in the chat.
Upon first launch, a screen will appear explaining how Vanish Mode works.
Once in Vanish Mode, the screen goes dark to signal the change.
How To Disable or Turn Off Vanish Mode In Facebook Messenger
To exit Vanish Mode, you tap on the “Turn Off Vanish Mode” button at the top of the screen.
Vanish mode is available to Messenger users in the US now and will expand to additional countries, and to Instagram, “soon.”